LivinGreens

[Note] LivinGreens has now moved to 89 Rangoon Road, #01-04 URBAN LOFTS, Singapore 218375. Opening hours remain unchanged.

Type of Institution: Vegan

Address: 325 Beach Road
Tel: +65 6396 5523
Mon–Sat: 11am – 8.30pm (last order) [Closed on Sun]
Website: http://www.livingreens.com.sg (not updated with everything on its new menu)

Overall: 6.5/10

LivinGreens is a vegan cafe that offers an extensive menu based on Western and Asian classics. I feel that the length of the menu itself merits a second visit, particularly as I did not try all the must-tries, though the food I tried ranged from an average to above average (though not amazing) quality. Service was friendly and attentive. Portions could have been bigger, but then again I have a huge appetite. Prices were reasonable.

Sides and Starters

Mushroom Soup

Rather bland. It would have been better if mushrooms with a stronger flavour (like baby portobellos and chestnuts) were used.

Xiao Long Bao

20110830-010426.jpg

Stuffed with various vegetables, the dish was again rather bland and would have been terribly boring if not for the shoyu on the side.

Mains

Brown Rice Vermicelli

I only took a bite of it as my Mum was the one who ordered it, but from what I recall, it was delish – the best thing I had on my visit.

Lasagna

20110830-010349.jpg

The presentation of the lasagna was pleasant and it tasted rather flavourful (it contained tomatoes, mushrooms, capsicum, etc. enhanced by various herbs and spices), but I was not impressed by the texture. The substitute used for the lasagna sheets did not give a satisfying texture and my impression of the dish was simply that it was way too mushy. It would also have been better and more authentic if they had used a cheese substitute – be it soy cheese, cashew cheese, or whatever.

Tomato Mushroom Spaghetti

What you would expect, really. Neither the spaghetti nor the home-made sauce jumepd out at me.

Dessert

Black Sesame Cake

20110830-010449.jpg

I love the fact that black sesame was used since this wasn’t very common, and the cake certainly tasted very healthy, but it was way too dry.

Conclusion: I love how extensive the menu is, and the prices were very reasonable, but perhaps next time I will go for one of their specials instead – I’ve heard lots of good things about the place but my visit this time wasn’t very memorable.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

