Eight Treasures Vegetarian

Type of Institution: Vegan

Address: 282A South Bridge Road
Tel: +65 65347727
Website: http://www.8treasuresgroup.com.sg

Opening Hours: Mon – Fri: 11:00 – 15:00, 17:00 – 22:00, Sat, Sun & PH: 11:00 – 22:00
Every 1st & 15th of the Lunar Month: 11.00 am – 10.00 pm

Overall: 7.5/10

I love the deco at Eight Treasures – very traditional Chinese furnishings. The service is also attentive but not obsequious (which is an important factor for me). I’ve been to Eight Treasures twice, but I’m just going to review the second time that I’ve been here. The menu is really quite long – you can come here at least 5 times and not have to try the same thing again. All in all, all the food I tried was nice – nothing was bad, nothing was exceptional, but they were all pretty good. Take note that since the restaurant is Buddhist, it doesn’t use any garlic or onion, both of which I am partial to.

Mock Lemon Chicken

Best dish we tried tonight. As my companion said, the dish was excellent on its own merits, regardless of whether it achieved the texture of chicken or not. That being said, the texture – achieved through the use of soy protein, though the waitress did not seem keen to elaborate – did approximate that of tender chicken, and it was infused with a delicate lemon flavour, and drizzled with a mayo-like sauce.

Dou Miao with Golden Mushrooms

Cooked perfectly and the vegetables and mushrooms were nested in a flavourful broth. I love dou miao – definitely my favourite Chinese vegetable!

Fried Olive Rice

Quite satisfactory – the olives imparted a nice flavour and the rice was fried with a myriad of ingredients such as peas and grilled corn and what appeared to be a mock meat that gave the rice a denser quality.

Black Pepper Monkey Head Mushrooms

I am a huge fan of monkey head mushrooms – its dense, meaty texture is so unlike any other mushrooms that I have tried. However, they are difficult to be cooked to perfection, and I found Eight Treasures’ monkey head mushrooms to be satisfactory but lacking in some respects. (For sure, I was comparing it to Naive’s monkey head mushrooms, which by the way are absolutely perfect.) More importantly, the black pepper sauce was boring. It wasn’t even in the least spicy (and I’m not one of those crazy Singaporeans who can eat a hell lot of chilli)…

Sambal Kang Kong

Again, the dish was not spicy enough. Surely when I order sambal kang kong I expect my tongue to burn a little bit.

Conclusion: Will not make it a point to travel here just for the food, but will definitely visit again if I am in the area – all the food was nice but I wasn’t blown away.

Leave a Reply

