Original Sin

Type of Institution: Vegetarian

Address: Blk 43 #01-62 Jalan Merah Saga Holland Village, Chip Bee Gardens Singapore 278115
Tel
: +65 6475 5605
Website: http://originalsin.com.sg

Overall: 8.2/10

I’m a bit peeved because I accidentally deleted all the information for a very long post on one of my favourite Chinese/Singaporean vegetarian restaurants in Singapore, Mai Zhi Su, but here’s a shorter post on another one of my firm favourites instead. I used to frequent Original Sin almost every week when I was vegetarian because of their high culinary standards and also because my tastebuds are more partial to Western cuisine (most vegetarian places in Singapore serve Chinese/Singaporean cuisine). The standard of food you can expect at Original Sin ranges from above average to truly wonderful.  The food usually arrives quite fast as well. However, I haven’t really been back since I became vegan because the vegan selection is quite limited (nothing is vegan as it is, but a legend on the menu lets you know which dishes can be made dairy-free, egg-free, gluten-free, etc.). Unfortunately, the menu hasn’t changed much, if at all, in the past few years. Also, while there are Daily Specials for soup, risotto and the baked short crust tart, the last two are typically not vegan/veganizable. I suppose it’s typical of Mediterranean cuisine to use a lot of cheese, which is a pity. And while we are on the topic of cheese, I was once informed by a waiter a long time ago that Original Sin uses rennet-free cheese and that some vegans have been happy to have that – but vegans please beware! (See this article to know why most vegetarian cheeses are non-vegan.)

Mezze Platter

Original SinThe mezze platter — definitely the best starter on the menu, vegetarian or vegan, and possibly the best item on the entire menu. While I appreciate novelty and experimentation when it comes to food, I am also very loyal once I’ve fallen in love – I’ve ordered the mezze platter every time I’ve visited Original Sin. The mezze platter is a middle eastern platter with a selection of fresh dips – hummus, sweet and aromatic pumpkin and carrot, eggplant baba ganoush (it’s like the eggplant version of hummus) and yoghurt tzatziki (replace this with any one of the other dips to veganize the platter). I love the flavourful dips (no doubt achieved by the use of fresh ingredients) which have a perfectly smooth and creamy consistency. The dips are accompanied with falafel balls, black olives, and warm, chewy pita bread. One thing I love about Middle Eastern cuisine, aside from the fact that it’s crazy delicious, is the fact that it naturally has lots of vegan and vegan-izable options 🙂
($22 for starter portion, which is definitely big enough for two to share comfortably. $30 for main portion)

Absolut Pasta

Original SinAl dente penne pasta with Australian asparagus, button mushrooms, spinach, capsicum and onion flamed with Absolut vodka in a pink sauce (vegan-ized, of course – the vegetarian version comes with Parmesan). It’s delicious, but I wished there were more of it – portion sizes for the pastas have significantly decreased over the years (either that or my sensory perception in relation to portion sizes has become increasingly distorted).  ($26)

Supremo Pizza

Original SinA wonderful combination of artichoke hearts, capsicum, button mushrooms, black olives and Australian asparagus on a thin tomato-based pizza crust. The artichoke hearts and black olives added a strong flavour that was nicely balanced out by the milder ingredients. The thin pizza crust was unexceptional and it could have done with more tomato sauce. The vegetarian version sees the addition of mozzarella and parmesan. Generally, I prefer the pastas to the pizzas at Original Sin. ($24)

Dessert: Apple Crumble with Vanilla Ice Cream

While I did not order any desserts this time round, I’ve tried the only vegan dessert here on previous occasions, which is the apple crumble with vanilla ice cream (ask for the vegan option). I always feel strange concluding a meal without dessert. This one wasn’t too shabby but it was rather unexceptional.

Conclusion: Original Sin is no doubt one of the best vegetarian restaurants in Singapore. I love the ambience and the food but I only wish they could do more for vegans too! Also it’s probably time for an overhaul of the menu? 

4 comments
  1. george jacobs said:

    I’m especially happy to see the vegan pizza. Although I prefer thick crust, the toppings look wonderful. Thanks for the info.

    • You’re welcome, George. Original Sin also has two other flavours of pizza – Sicilian (different types of cheeses with arugula and roasted capsicum) and Masala (spiced aromatic lentils, eggplant, spring onion, yogurt, spanish onion and mozzarella), but I don’t think the vegan-ized versions would taste as great as the Supremo.

  2. bakeanything said:

    Vegan pizza right down the road for me! hooray! thank you for this review (:

Leave a Reply

