Earth Kitchen

Type of Institution: Vegetarian

Address: 10 Anson Road #01-46, International Plaza, Singapore 079903
Tel: +65 6226 3979

Opening Hours: Mon – Sat 7 AM-3PM, 5-9.30PM (closed on public holidays)

Overall: 6.0/10

Earth Kitchen at International Plaza is more commonly known as Xin Yi Vegetarian (the name which Earth Kitchen previously gave its vegetarian subsidiary), but from what I know nothing much has changed aside from the name. It is a typical Chinese vegetarian restaurant, with a wide variety of Chinese vegetarian food and traditional wooden furnishings. Eggs are not used but dairy products are used in certain dishes. I thought it was strange that the menu did not have any desserts.

Service was disappointing, as the waiters seemed generally inattentive and the waiter serving my table was unhelpful when I asked for recommendations. Sometimes I feel like throwing my cutlery across the table when a waiter tells me “Uh I don’t know, it is a matter of preference.”

As for the quality of the food, I generally wasn’t impressed despite the fact that everything I ordered was recommended by the menu. To be more specific…

Veg Sharks Fin with Abalone Soup

Earth KitchenThe peppery Veg Sharks Fin with Abalone Soup had some interesting textures – expect crunchy enoki mushrooms, fresh earthy button mushrooms, chewy mock sharks’ fin and, and mock shredded crab meat and fish cake. The small portion suits two people comfortably.  ($10 for small portion, $35 for large)

Teochew Dumplings

Earth Kitchen

Earth KitchenThe Teochew Dumplings, which contained strips of carrot, white carrot, mushroom, and peanut chunks, were light in flavour ($3.60).

Pot Stickers

Earth KitchenThe Pot Stickers were basically Chinese spinach wrapped in thin translucent dumpling skins, accompanied by vinegar sauce. The health conscious should avoid them as they were rather oily. ($4.80)

Assam Fish

Earth KitchenThe Assam Fish featured a few slabs of not unpleasant soy-based mock fish covered with a strong sour and spicy Assam sauce. The accompanying eggplant and (overcooked) yellow capsicum made for a strange combination of ingredients. Similar to the Pot Stickers, the Assam Fish was quite oily as well. ($15)

Five Flavour Fried Rice

Earth KitchenThis was the only dish I tried that I would recommend. Although it was slightly oily, the brown rice was perfectly cooked and stir-fried with a pleasant medley of ingredients – mock ham, pine nuts, diced carrot, mushroom, long beans, pumpkin seeds, and sunflower seeds, topped off with a handful of shredded iceberg lettuce. ($8.50)

Conclusion: I was not impressed by the food I’ve tried at Earth Kitchen – most of it seemed to be of the same quality as an average Chinese vegetarian restaurant. Also, it’s not suitable for the health-conscious as the food leaned towards the oily side.

5 comments
  1. george jacobs said:

    I’m glad that you highlight the fact that dishes are too oily. In general, oil isn’t healthy, and it turns some people off veg food. Of course, some people will say that oil adds taste, but we can change our tastes if we make a conscious, consistent effort. We can better enjoy the tastes of the spices and the other ingredients if they are not drowned in oil.

    I’ve eaten at Earth Kitchen many times. During lunch on weekdays, they have a steam table with lots of selections to choose from, and as Ash says, their brown rice is nice. It’s brownish red, not brownish white.

    So, please tell Earth Kitchen and the other veg eateries you visit to use less or no oil. It really is possible. See ‘The Heart Smart Oil Free Cookbook’ (available at most bookshops) for tips on how to cook without oil.

    • VeganAsh said:

      Hi George, I definitely agree that the natural tastes of food are enhanced when they are not overwhelmed by oil. If I’m in the area, I would visit again to try the steam table.

      I’ve bought the ‘Heart Smart Oil Free Cookbook’ at Kinokuniya and I would recommend that my readers purchase it too. Singapore really needs to learn more about how to align cooking with nutrition. I’m hoping to review the book on my blog soon. Cheers

      • george jacobs said:

        No need to buy the book. Lots of recipes on the web, such as more than 700 veg recipes t this local site: http://crystalbyblog.blogspot.sg/

        Lots of busy people find cooking now and then to be a great way to relax. It’s also fun to cook with family/friends.

        Speaking of less or no oil, this afternoon, I had lunch at a food centre in Woodlands, and I asked the chap making my dosa if he could make it with no oil, and he said it was no problem. Friday, I was at an MOE training centre, and when I asked the folks at one of the stalls (no veg stalls there) if they could make vegetarian beehoon without oil, they said they could, and it was nice. So, we can have some impact.

Leave a Reply

