Pita Pan

Type of Institution: Vegetarian

Address: L1-87, Bay Level, The Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands, 2 Bay Avenue, Singapore 018972
Tel: +65 6688 7450
Website: http://www.pitapan.com.sg

Opening Hours: Sun – Thu 11am to 11pm, Fri and Sat 11am to 12 midnight

Overall: 4.8/10

Pita PanPita Pan is a vegetarian café specializing in traditional Middle Eastern food like falafel, hummus, pita pockets, and salads, situated within The Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands beside the Waterfront Promenade. Perhaps unsurprisingly given the location, the food was way too pricey given the quality and the portion sizes. Service was also slightly patchy – I had to wait more than 15 minutes for my first dish to arrive although the café was sparsely populated on a late Sunday afternoon. As for the level of friendliness of the staff, the manager seemed eager to help but that was offset by the fact that I was shouted at in the ear to move out of the way by a waiter once. And as for the food…

Half Pocket Meal

I started with a half pocket meal, since they promoted pita pockets as their biggest selling point. After a rather long wait (which they explained away by the need to freshly prepare the falafel), I was prompted by a lackadaisical server to select some toppings for the pita pocket from the salad bar.

Pita PanI kept it simple – just some beans, salsa, corn and green olives.

Pita PanAs you can see, they were not very generous with their servings, which probably worked out for the best since the toppings were generally mediocre and the green olives, in particular, had that terrible chemical canned taste. The small plain falafel balls were average in taste and texture, as were the pita bread they came in. The half pocket meal came with a packet of fries that were slightly too salty and a soft drink (not depicted). ($13.90)

Hummus with Mushrooms

Pita PanThe classic hummus made from chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice and garlic was decently executed – smooth, creamy, and with a good flavour – though it was a tad too oily. The mushrooms, unfortunately, were overcooked and unsavoury. The hummus was served with some pita bread on the side. ($11.90)

Conclusion: I was sorely disappointed by the experience. You’d have a better chance of finding good Mediterranean food while stumbling around drunk in Arab Street.

15 comments
  1. Becc said:

    What’a shame. I love middle eastern food.

    • Yeah me too. 🙂 Do you have any favourites for Middle Eastern food in Singapore?

      Ash

      • Becc said:

        I suppose cafe Le Claire down on Arab st/haji lane. I really need to venture out and try new places but scared to in case it’s not so good. I did it once, and I was very disappointed. Do you have any suggestions? I’d be super keen to try them out.

      • Hmmm I haven’t fallen in love with any restaurant in town yet when it comes to Middle Eastern. I actually haven’t been to Cafe Le Caire – it’s on my list of next 3 places to review actually, I’ve heard so much about it. What would you recommend?

      • Becc said:

        I would recommend the mezze, dips, ful with hummus. Just double check on ingredients coz I take dairy/eggs sometimes.

      • Thanks for the heads up!

      • george jacobs said:

        The baba ganoush (eggplant) at Cafe Le Caire http://www.cafelecaire.com is really good, and there are lots of other vegan options, although the menu is mostly meat. The atmosphere there is nice too. I haven’t tried any of the other eateries on Arab St.

      • Thanks, I’ll keep that in mind!

      • Thanks G, I’ll keep that in mind!

  2. george jacobs said:

    While I see your points about the food, I had a somewhat more positive experience at the restaurant. Plus, it’s really nice to have a veg outlet in such a glam place. I can take visitors there after showing them around Marina Bay.

    I like how you provide frank advice that restaurants can use to improve. I hope PIta Pan is listening.

    • That’s true, the CBD definitely needs more veg places. If you’re at Marina Bay though consider checking out Pollen, apparently their vegetarian menu is amazing 🙂

  3. Le Claire is alright but try out alaturka!
    It’s pretty near leclaire. I recommend their vegetarian moussaka. It’s a dish with sliced eggplants and potatoes in generous dark gravy, baked with cheese (u take?)and green chilli on top.

  4. Gary said:

    Try alaturka! At haji lane I like it alot more than le Claire and it’s got vegetarian options. If u take cheese, their veggie moussaka is to die for! Potato and eggplant slices in dark gravy. Laced with cheese and baked to perfection.

    • Hi Gary, thanks for the recommendation, I’ll check it out. I’m vegan so I don’t take cheese.

      • George Jacobs said:

        Cafe le Caire’s babaganoush (eggplant paste) is especially nice, and I think it’s vegan. Pita Pan is also good, in my opinion. Happy to see a veg eatery near MBS.

Leave a Reply

